Wednesday WIPs

What are you doing today?    I’m having a Craft Day.   DH has gone off to his tractor event for the day so that leaves me without even having to stop to make lunch!!!  I have a list of items partially done, or planned, that I have great hopes of completing—some today.

WIPs (Works in Progress for the uninitiated):

1.  Strawberry pin keeps

These are stitched together and are ready for stuffing.  I decided to make them about 1/2 the size the pattern called for as they looked very large in the photo.  I got this pattern, as I mentioned the other day, from the Spring 2012 Quilts and More magazine.  I also need to stitch the tops.

 

2.  Bird

I can’t say too much about this bird but he’s a project I’m working on and it’s a great stitching project for taking outside.  You’ll learn more about his bird later.

3. Baskets wallhanging

You may remember my paper-pieced baskets from an earlier post.  I made four to send off to a swap I was participating in with the Carol Doak Yahoo Group.  I’ve decided on what I want to do with the ones I received from the swap and have the wallhanging all planned out.  I want to pick up some fabric tomorrow at the Sewing and Quilting Expo in Lakeland to complete it but in the meantime, I want to make one more basket of my own to add to the four I received.

4.  Chicks

Not a very good photo, but I want to make some paper-pieced chicks for fabric postcards I’ll sell in March in time for Easter sales.  I just thought they were adorable and looked for an excuse to make them.

5. Shirt

Weeks (well, maybe months!) ago, I bought this fabric and pattern on sale at Hancock Fabrics.  When you see a pattern you like for 99 cents, you grab it.  The fabric was also on sale.  It’s a very soft cotton so I decided to buy it and there it sits.  I think it’s time to put it together.  Maybe even today!

I know I have other WIPs (like my fabric strip basket) but I’m working away on that in front of the TV when I choose to sit down there so that doesn’t count.  These others have been tucked away and it’s time for them to see the light of day.

 

That’s all I’m going to write for today so I can begin these projects and complete a few of them today.   Tomorrow I’m off to the Sewing and Quilt Expo with a friend and I’m taking my camera!  Be prepared for some eye candy!

Hugs to all, and a special hug to Nita as she begins her long flight across the ocean to Australia to visit her son and his wife.  Have a fantastic time, Nita, and we’ll be eager for your return—in five weeks.

Marsha

 

 

About Quilter in Motion

I'm a full-time RVer, quilter, artist, and avid reader. I do all my quilting in a 34' RV called a fifth wheel, so named because it is towed behind a truck and the hitch sits in the bed of the truck thus the "fifth wheel". I get asked a lot how I can quilt in such a small space and I thought I'd write about how I do it, including some hints and tips that might help all quilters.

Leave a comment