Old and New

Warning:  I”m not talking just about quilting, though “old and new” would fit quilting.  It just as nicely fits cooking.  So now you know.  I”m talking about quilting and cooking tonight.  Follow along and I think you’ll be happy you did.

Last night, as I mentioned in my last post, DD, DGS and I went strawberry picking at a nearby farm.  We always take the grandson with us; he’s actually a very good picker.  We took him the first time when he was about three years old.  He has learned to look over the berry before putting it in his pail.  ” No bad spots, no white spots” are his mother’s lessons to him. I wonder where she learned those lessons. {smile}   He is allowed to eat his fill.  I wish I had that first strawberry picking photo handy.  He was an adorable baby and is a handsome young man now.  I picked about 10 pounds of strawberries with the plan to make some sugar free strawberry jam and a few strawberry shortcakes.

With the grandson spending the night and smelling the strawberries all night as he was sleeping in the same “room”, I made pancakes with a fresh strawberry topping for breakfast this morning.  Tonight, DH asked for strawberry shortcake – instead of supper.   Of course I’m not going to complain about that once in a while and I love strawberry shortcake as much as he does.

I’ve used the same shortcake recipe for my whole married life, with a few exceptions.  Every now and then I try a “new” recipe but this is a tried and true, several generation recipe.  My grandmother had this recipe and my mother had this recipe.  It came from a newspaper article in the Portland (Maine) Press Herald column called “Clearinghouse”, written by Marjorie Standish.  Ms. Standish later put the recipe and a lot of other wonderful Maine recipes into book form.  Actually this recipe came from her second Maine cookbook called Keep Cooking the Maine Way.  This book and her earlier book, Cooking Downeast, are both compilations of the many, many Clearinghouse columns she wrote over the years.

Cooking Down East

I own both of these books and so does my daughter.  These two books are still available in Maine gift shops and bookstores but if you aren’t visiting Maine, you can find them both on http://www.amazon.com.  My copy of the “Keep Cooking” book is a 1973 hardback edition.   The other book is even older.  My daughter has her grandmother’s copies.

I used the recipe called “Old Fashioned Strawberry Shortcake” which goes like this:

2 cups sifted flour                1 tsp. baking soda            2 tsp. cream of tartar    1/2 tsp. salt     1 stick butter or margarine     1 egg      2/3 cup milk

Sift flour, measure and sift together with baking soda, cream of tartar and salt.  You could use 4 tsp. baking powder if you do not have soda and cream of tartar.  Blend in butter or margarine, using pastry blender.  Beat egg slightly, combine with milk, add all at once to dry ingredients.  Stir with a fork.  Toss dough onto lightly floured board.  Divide in halves.  Roll or pat very gently and place one half in a buttered 8″ pan.  Brush that half with melted butter.  Place other half on top.  Bake at 450 degrees until shortcake is delicately browned, about 12-15 minutes.

Ms. Standish inserts this in the recipe”: ” This is a “do as I say, not as I do” because this is what you will do if you want a real old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.  I use this recipe for it is a real biscuit shortcake.  Instead of making 2 big layers, I cut the rolled-out dough with my largest 3″ cookie cutter, bake the shortcakes on a cookie sheet and serve them in soup plates.”   I completely agree with her.   I made mine into smaller biscuits and baked them in a baking pan.

I split the biscuits in half, cover with strawberries and then whipped cream.  I then put the top half over the whipped cream and put a few more strawberries on top.  Yum.

 

Speaking of Amazon books, it brings me to my second half of the blog post.   I had heard, from Madame Samm here, about Needles and Notions, a quilting pattern book full of wonderful paper-pieced sewing notions.  It had been out of print for some time but is available, at least on Amazon, again.  I got my copy for $9.83 as a “used” book.  This book came yesterday and it has never been opened.  It looks brand new.  The seller was Goodwill Industries out of Ohio.  This is the second book I’ve bought “used” through a Goodwill Industries seller.  Both have been in fantastic shape.

These are adorable blocks.  Needles and Notions, by Jaynette Huff, was published by That Patchwork Place in 2000 and may still be available through them. There is a “no reproduction” clause in the books so I can’t share them photos with you until I make one and own it so go check it out at Amazon to see what I’m talking about.

I hope you can find this book if you love paper-piecing and you love sewing themes.

Thank you for dropping in to visit here.  I appreciate each and every one of my post readers.  If this is your first time coming by, I hope you’ll make a habit of it, maybe even become a “follower” to get email notifications of new posts.

Happy Stitching.

Marsha

About Quilter in Motion

I'm a full-time RVer, quilter, artist, and avid reader. I do all my quilting in a 34' RV called a fifth wheel, so named because it is towed behind a truck and the hitch sits in the bed of the truck thus the "fifth wheel". I get asked a lot how I can quilt in such a small space and I thought I'd write about how I do it, including some hints and tips that might help all quilters.

4 responses »

  1. Oh, how I still love those Marjorie Standish cookbooks! It’s nice to know that someone else uses them too!

    Reply
  2. Yum, strawberry shortcake for dinner sounds delicious. Maybe that is what we will have tonight as well. I made this cake: http://aspicyperspective.com/2010/05/farmstand-fresh.html – this cake was fantastic, I might make another and freeze it; a pie (the one where you cook the berries on the stove, add sugar and cornstarch and then pour that over a cup of raw berries into a pie crust); berries for strawberry shortcake, and still have a 1/2 bucket of berries to maybe make these with: http://buddingbaketress.blogspot.com/2011/04/strawberry-shortcake-cookies.html . Is it ok to have strawberry shortcake for dinner and strawberry pie for dessert?

    Reply
    • Quilter in Motion

      Funny you should ask. I think so. Living in Vermont, you have to eat fresh strawberries when you can get them, as often as you can. As I was making strawberry jam (sugar-free), I was thinking “we need to use up some more berries….strawberry shortcake again.” I had strawberries with Greek yogurt for breakfast! I still have about the same amount you do left. I just saw a recipe for strawberry cobbler; maybe. I’ll check out your cake first. 10 jars of strawberry jam (2 batches).

      Reply

Leave a comment